Texas Motorcycle Laws
Information about Texas Motorcycle Laws from Our Motorcycle Accident Lawyers
Texas is a popular motorcycle destination. Motorcycle laws in Texas are designed to protect riders as they travel throughout the state. The Law Tigers accident lawyers are familiar with riding laws and equipment regulations throughout Texas and can help you understand Texas motorcycle laws. If you are involved in an accident and need to speak with a team of talented and reliable attorneys, don’t hesitate to contact Law Tigers today.
Rider Safety Equipment
Texas motorcycle laws are similiar to other states. Riders should take note of the following safety regulations when riding in the state:
- Texas exempts riders 21 years or older from wearing a helmet if they can either show proof of successfully completing a motorcycle operator training and safety course or can show proof of having a medical insurance policy. A peace officer may not stop or detain a person who is the operator of or a passenger on a motorcycle for the sole purpose of determining whether the person has successfully completed the motorcycle operator training and safety course or is covered by a health insurance plan.
- A safety helmet is required for riders age 20 and under.
- Daytime use of headlight is required unless motorcycle is manufactured prior to 1975.
- Eye protection is not required.
- There are no restrictions on the use of helmet speakers
For more detailed information about Texas motorcycle laws, contact the accident lawyers at Law Tigers today.
Motorcycles must meet certain equipment requirements to comply with Texas motorcycle laws. Like many other states, turn signals are mandatory in Texas (if model year 1960 or newer). Handlebar height is restricted to a maximum of 15″ above seat and is required by inspection regulations. Texas accepts motorcycle endorsements from other states. The state has the following regulations:
- A passenger seat is required when carrying a passenger.
- A passenger footrest is not required when carrying a passenger.
- All motorcycles are required by law to periodic safety inspections.
- A muffler is not required.
- One rear-view mirror is required.
- No maximum sound levels.
Texas law does require a safety helmet and eye protection for off-road riding. Headlights and taillights are only required after sunset. Mufflers are required, however there is no maximum sound level. Spark Arrestor is required by law.
Rules of the Road
Texas motorcycle laws also include:
- No restriction on radar detection
If you have additional questions about the rules of the road in Texas, contact a Texas motorcycle accident lawyer at Law Tigers today.
Texas Insurance Requirements:
In Texas, it is mandatory for riders to carry minimum compulsory liability insurance, providing for:
- Bodily injury coverage of at least $30,000 per person injured, and $60,000 for all persons injured in an accident
- Property damage coverage of at least $25,000
In the event of an accident, it is important to make sure that you and your passengers are protected. Our Texas motorcycle accident lawyers will fight aggressively to help you obtain the maximum compensation you deserve for your injuries, lost wages, property damage, and other losses if you are ever involved in a Texas motorcycle accident.
Contact our Motorcycle Lawyers in Texas
For additional information about motorcycle laws in Texas or across the nation, or if you require powerful, aggressive legal representation in the event of an accident, don’t hesitate to contact the knowledgeable motorcycle accident lawyers at Law Tigers today.