California Motorcycle Laws

California Motorcycle Laws – Consult an Accident Lawyer from Law Tigers

If you live in or plan to ride in California, you need to know the motorcycle laws. A motorcycle accident lawyer at Law Tigers can help you understand the rules and regulations of riding in California. Motorcycle laws differ by state, and it is important to be aware of the different laws as you travel. If you need more information about California motorcycle laws or what to do in the event of a California motorcycle accident, contact a lawyer at Law Tigers today, or call 1-800-LawTigers (529-8443).

Rider Safety Equipment

California has some of the most stringent motorcycle laws in the nation. Safety and equipment laws are designed to keep riders and passengers safe. In the event of an accident, it is important to be prepared. Some things to consider when riding in California are:

  • A safety helmet must be worn at all times, regardless of the rider’s age
  • Eye protection is not required
  • Daytime headlights are required for all vehicles manufactured after 1978
  • Only helmet speakers with a single-earphone are allowed

If you plan to ride in California, it is important to be aware of these motorcycle laws. A motorcycle accident lawyer from Law Tigers can help answer any additional questions you may have; don’t hesitate to contact our California office today.

Back to top

Bike Specifications

California has the following laws regulating the specifications of motorcycles:

  • A passenger seat and footrest are required if you are carrying a passenger
  • Handlebars height may not exceed six inches above a driver’s shoulders when sitting
  • Turn signals are required
  • Motorcycles are subject to random safety inspections by law
  • All riders are required to pass a driver skill test
  • There is no restriction on the use of radar detectors
  • A muffler is required and any cut out, bypass, or similar devices are banned

Off Road Riding

When riding off-road in California, it is important to consider the motorcycle laws unique to this type of riding. A safety helmet is not required except for an ATV vehicle or unless a driver is riding on State or Federal owned land. However, it is important to note that each agency can choose to enforce or not enforce a helmet law on their land.

Headlights and taillights are required off-road after sunset, and vehicle registration is mandatory. Operators must be able to reach all controls, and a safety certificate is required for all drivers under the age of 18.

Rules of the Road

California allows lane splitting and operating two motorcycles abreast in the same traffic lane. Safety inspections are required by law and are randomly selected. There is no restriction on passenger age.

If you have additional questions about the rules of the road in California, contact a California motorcycle accident lawyer at Law Tigers today.

Back to top

California Insurance Requirements

In California, all drivers must carry minimum compulsory liability insurance providing for:

  • Bodily injury coverage of at least $15,000 per person injured, and $30,000 for all persons injured in an accident
  • Property damage coverage of at least $5,000

Back to top

Contact our California Motorcycle Accident Lawyer Today

If you would like additional information about the motorcycle laws in California, or if you have been involved in a motorcycle accident, contact the lawyers at Law Tigers today. We provide aggressive legal representation for accident victims and can help you obtain compensation for your injuries and motorcycle property damage.

Back to top