Colorado Motorcycle Laws

Information about Colorado Motorcycle Laws from Our Motorcycle Accident Lawyers

Colorado is a popular motorcycle destination. Motorcycle laws in Colorado are designed to protect riders as they travel throughout the state. The Law Tigers accident lawyers are familiar with riding laws and equipment regulations throughout Colorado and can help you understand Colorado motorcycle laws. If you are involved in an accident and need to speak with a team of talented and reliable attorneys, don't hesitate to contact Law Tigers today.

Rider Safety Equipment

As of July 1, 2007, all riders and passengers age 18 and under are required to wear a safety helmet at all times while riding a motorcycle.

Colorado motorcycle laws are similar to other states. But, riders should take note of the following safety regulations when riding in the state:

  • A safety helmet is not required for adult riders and adult passengers
  • All riders and passengers age 18 and under are required to wear a safety helmet at all times while riding a motorcycle
  • Eye protection is required for all riders and passengers
  • There are no restrictions on the use of helmet speakers
  • A rider education certificate is not required

For more detailed information about Colorado motorcycle laws, contact the accident lawyers at Law Tigers today.

Back to top

Bike Specifications

Motorcycles must meet certain equipment requirements to comply with Colorado motorcycle laws. Unlike many other states, turn signals are not mandatory in Colorado and there are no restrictions on handlebar height. Colorado accepts both motorcycle endorsements and rider education completion cards from other states. The state has the following regulations:

  • A passenger seat and footrest are required when carrying a passenger
  • All motorcycles are subject to random safety inspections
  • A muffler is required
  • One rear-view mirror is required
  • Maximum sound levels vary depending on the model year and the speed at which the bike is traveling.

Off-Road Riding

Colorado law does not require a safety helmet or eye protection for off-road riding. Headlights and taillights are only required after sunset. Mufflers are required and a maximum sound level is set at 84 decibels measured 50 feet from the bike. Vehicle title is not required for off-road motorcycles.

Rules of the Road

Colorado motorcycle laws also include:

  • No restriction on radar detection
  • Lane splitting is illegal, as no person may operate a motorcycle between lanes of traffic
  • Riding two abreast in a single lane is allowed

If you have additional questions about the rules of the road in Colorado, contact a Colorado motorcycle accident lawyer at Law Tigers today.

Back to top

Colorado Insurance Requirements

In Colorado, it is mandatory for riders to carry minimum compulsory liability insurance, providing for:

  • Bodily injury coverage of at least $25,000 per person injured, and $50,000 for all persons injured in an accident
  • Property damage coverage of at least $15,000

In the event of an accident, it is important to make sure that you and your passengers are protected. Our Colorado motorcycle accident lawyers will fight aggressively to help you obtain the maximum compensation you deserve for your injuries, lost wages, property damage, and other losses if you are ever involved in a Colorado motorcycle accident.

Back to top

Contact our Motorcycle Lawyers in Colorado

For additional information about motorcycle laws in Colorado or across the nation, or if you require powerful, aggressive legal representation in the event of an accident, don't hesitate to contact the knowledgeable motorcycle accident lawyers at Law Tigers today.

Back to top

Join the Law Tigers Online Community

Find a Local Motorcycle Attorney

Law Tigers Rider Benefit Card

Benefits

  • Toll Free 24-Hour Accident Hotline
  • Free Legal Advice for all Motorcycle Matters
  • $10,000 Hit-and-Run Reward
  • Free Representation for Motorcycle Damage Claims
  • $10,000 Bike Theft Recovery
  • No Recovery, No Fee