Arizona Motorcycle Laws
Arizona Motorcycle Laws – Accident Lawyers at Law Tigers
Arizona motorcycle laws are intended to help motorcyclists enjoy safe riding in a beautiful state. Arizona’s warm, dry weather, gorgeous landscape, and famous landmarks, including such destinations as the Grand Canyon National Park, Sedona and Four Corners, make the state a popular destination for motorcycle enthusiasts. Before you ride in Arizona, be sure to familiarize yourself with the state’s motorcycle laws. In the event you’re in a motorcycle accident, contact Arizona motorcycle accident lawyers at Law Tigers. Law Tigers also maintains a recommended list of reputable motorcycle shops in Arizona.
Rider Safety Equipment
Arizona motorcycle laws require all riders under the age of 18 wear helmets. Riders over the age of 18 are not required to wear a helmet, and there are no restrictions on the use of helmet speakers under Arizona motorcycle laws. Riders must wear appropriate eye protection unless their bikes have windscreens. It is important to remember and follow these regulations when riding in Arizona.
Motorcycles must meet certain equipment requirements to comply with Arizona motorcycle laws. State rules regulating motorcycle specifications include:
- A passenger seat and footrests are required when carrying a passenger
- At least one side view mirror is required
- Turn signals are not required
- Modulated headlights are allowed
- Radar detectors are allowed
- Handlebars that require the rider to hold his or her hands above shoulder height are not allowed
- A muffler is required, but there is no established maximum sound level
- A spark arrestor is mandatory on state and federal lands
- A vehicle title is required
Arizona motorcycle laws require a muffler and prohibit the use of cutout and bypass devices. The laws establish maximum allowable A-weighted sound levels based on measurements taken at a distance of 50 ft from center lane of travel. Reference http://www.americanmotorcyclist.com/asp/amaccess/laws/result.asp?state=az for more information.
Arizona law places very few restrictions on off-road motorcycle riding. There is no minimum operator age, though riders under 18 are required to wear a helmet and eye protection at all times. Although rider education is available, it is elective, and no license is required to ride a motorcycle off-road. Headlights and taillights are optional when riding off-road.
Rules of the Road
The state of Arizona accepts motorcycle license endorsements and rider education completion cards from other states. State-funded rider education classes are available to all eligible applicants. Rider education classes can be waived if the applicant passes a skill and knowledge test administered by the Motor Vehicle Department.
Arizona motorcycle laws prohibit riders from practicing lane splitting. However, two riders are allowed to travel side by side in the same lane, if both consent. More than two abreast is not allowed. If you have additional questions about the rules of the road in Arizona, contact our Arizona Motorcycle Injury Lawyers today.
Arizona requires motorcyclists to carry liability insurance. The minimum coverage required must provide for:
- Bodily injury coverage should be at least $15,000 per person injured, and $30,000 for all persons injured in an accident
- Property damage coverage should be at least $10,000
This information is only a brief summary of Arizona motorcycle laws. Consult one of our expert motorcycle accident lawyers to learn about the laws in more detail.
If you have an accident in Arizona, a Law Tigers motorcycle accident lawyer can help you collect the payment you deserve.
Contact Our Arizona Motorcycle Accident Lawyers
If you would like additional information about the motorcycle laws in Arizona, or if you have been involved in an Arizona motorcycle accident, contact the lawyers at Law Tigers today. We provide aggressive legal representation for accident victims and can help you obtain compensation for your injuries and motorcycle property damage.